Getting Started

Good afternoon,
I am in Memphis, and this is my first time being involved with the Go Baby Go program. This is also my school’s first year doing anything with the program. Could you please give me any advice on choosing the models or hardware that are easiest to modify, most reliable, cheapest, etc. The school we are paired with is in their second year of doing it, but I am kind of shooting in the dark from the engineering side. Any advice, help, or general comments are greatly appreciated.

To give a little more background, the two main things that need modifications are gas pedal to a push button, the seats need to be modified to be more safe, and there needs to be something to reduce the acceleration and deceleration. Other than that, we are wanting to look into providing a remote kill switch as well as any other things that might be beneficial to the kids as well as their parents.

Thanks!
Clueless Mechanical Engineer

The Fisher Price “Wild Thing” is great allround vehicle to use. The slight smaller “UpRider” is nice too. Letting the family choose the vehicle is a nice touch too

As far as seats, if the OEM won’t work you can always use Bumbo seats if the kiddo needs a little more support. And for max support you can try using a bicycle carrier, the kiddo’s own car seat, or go fullblown custom using PVC etc.

Wiring wise, lots of info on this site & elsewhere. At our location here in Knoxville we prefer to use a pre-fabbed control we call “Motherbox” to cut down on day-of-stressed-out-wiring-hassles. For a kill switch, we wire in a Fimco 12V remote stop from Tractor Supply or Amazon.

Welcome aboard :slight_smile:

I would recommend checking out #manuals-and-guides and see if there is an existing modification that meets your needs. I agree with Pete that the Wild Thing is great, but I’m not sure that I would suggest it as your very first build as it can get complex depending on what you need it to do.